Wednesday, July 28, 2010

My Take on MTV's The Real World New Orleans




Though The Real World New Orleans premiered in June I refused to watch an episode until the end of July. I had seen them out filming a few times last semester, I had seen the previews, heard a few Loyola students talking about their drunken experiences with the cast, whatever. I decided I didn't want to be a part of it. And so I hadn't watched it. I finally gave in though after a roommate told me she had been watching it. So here's what I think. I  know that I am not a native New Orleanian but more of a "glorified tourist" as some may think for going to college there but still, I have fiercely regarded the city as my home for the past 2 years. So I find it annoying that these people who just want to be on TV are cast on this show that really has no point or storyline. Then they come in and act like they own the place, bring their cameras into all the local spots, it's just annoying. I feel like I've earned more of a right to be there than they have. After watching an episode tonight I'm a little more ok with it, after seeing how the show portrayed New Orleans. Instead of it being some dirty, crime ridden, hurricane destroyed city it showed New Orleans as a vibrant city with a huge yet wonderful and tightknit community, which is exactly what New Orleans is. It is strong, resilient, and simply a great place to be, no matter if you are a tourist, college student, or native. And if forced I suppose I would have to admit it's pretty neat (like really really cool actually) to see places that I go all the time on national television. So although I wasn't too excited about it, I guess The Real World New Orleans is ok.

No comments: